New Marc Jacobs Spectacles X First Eyewear Centre at East Coast

I am writing this post with much excitement as I have finally made a new pair of spectacles after 13 YEARS. I know that is super long ago but my degree has not changed much thanks to the very expensive orthokeratology (ortho-k) process that I went through during my secondary school days where I basically wore corrective lenses to sleep.

Anyway, this time round, the optical shop where I made my spectacles was the First Eyewear Centre at East Coast Road.1Though this concept store looks really modern and posh, it has a long history. It is pretty well-known among the easterners too. Apparently, its founder and managing director, Ms Careen Low, had worked with her father Mr Alan Low at his first optical practice which was established in 1975 in Katong Shopping Centre. Careen later founded her own optical practice First Eyewear Centre in Siglap Shopping Centre in 1992 and relocated to the current concept store in 2015.

Before you step in, you will spot this cool neon sign which says “Seeing is Believing”.2The shop is big and spacious and I was told that it showcases around 3,000 frames and sunglasses.
5First Eyewear Centre carries popular brands like Kate Spade and Marc Jacobs which are distributed by Italian eyewear manufacturer and distributor Safilo Group.16.1I was there for an Eyewear x Beauty workshop, Beauty Treats with Loved Ones, organised by First Eyewear Centre and there were food and wine.6 78 9Glad to take a photo with the founder, Ms Careen Low.
10Here’s Careen and the clinical director, Ms Chua Yee Leen. 11A group photo with the fabulous team from Access Communications.
12After all the photo-taking, it was time for me to get my eyes checked.

Honestly speaking, I have been really concerned with my eye health. It is reassuring to know that First Eyewear Centre has a team of certified optometrists and is fully equipped with the latest eye diagnostic tools to detect common ocular diseases like diabetic retinopathy, glaucoma, age-related macular degeneration (AMD) and cataract.13The centre can perform comprehensive eye examination including optical coherence tomography, non-mydriatic fundus photography, non-contact tonometry and digital slit-lamp biomicroscopy. It can also perform A-scan biometry for paediatric orthokeratology assessment. How awesome is that?

My optometrist was Mr Alan Loh. He was extremely good at explaining all the processes and the things that I should take note of.14The eye examination was so thorough that I actually spent much more time on this than choosing the spectacles frame. LOL15As I am a frequent user of 3C products, my eyes are often very red and dry. In fact, I always have to carry around a bottle of eye drops with me wherever I go.

Alan then recommended me to a fatigue relief lens called the Shamir Relax Lens. It uses special technology to relieve strain on your eye muscles and is highly recommended for working adults. I tried it on the spot and found that reading was much easier on the eyes after using the lens!

I found an interesting video on YouTube to introduce this amazing lens. shamirAfter around 40 minutes, it was time to choose from the wide array of frames. Alan patiently showed me around the place and chose some frames for me to try on.
16Just to highlight, First Eyewear Centre even has a Varilux Experience machine that helps you take 360 degree videos of how you look with the various frames. It allows you to compare these frames side by side thereafter. Awesome!17.317.217.4In the end, I laid my eyes on the Marc Jacobs turtle shell frame. It was such a tough decision as everything there was so pretty~

How do I look? 🙂17.5So glad that I have a new pair of specs for the new year! ❤

More eyewear below.
1719 20Thanks for reading! Merry Christmas! 🙂

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

First Eyewear Centre Pte Ltd

Address: 713 East Coast Road Singapore 459066

Contact No.: 6538 2919

Opening Hours: 11am to 9pm (Mon-Sat) and 11am to 6pm (Sun & Public Holidays)

www.firsteyewear.com

3 responses to “New Marc Jacobs Spectacles X First Eyewear Centre at East Coast

Leave a Reply

