Exploring Taiwan’s New Taipei City – Tamsui 【探索台湾新北市 – 淡水】

The second day of my exploration of the New Taipei City brings me to the beautiful Tamsui district.

Tamsui, or Danshui can be said as one of the most well-known districts in the New Taipei City. Easily accessible by the MRT (it is the final stop on the red line) and lauded for its scenic sunset, Tamsui is a popular tourist destination. Of course, not forgetting Tamsui also showcases a fusion of eastern culture and western influence. Places like Tamsui Old Street, Fort San Domingo, Little White House and Fisherman’s Wharf should not be missed on your one-day trip to Tamsui.

In this blog post, I will share with you about Tamsui Old Street (淡水老街). This includes the food that you must try at Tamsui and the new attractions that I have spotted.

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Iron Egg 【铁蛋】

Tamsui is known for a few specialties. One of which is a preserved black chicken egg that has a rubbery texture and it is called iron egg (铁蛋). Many tourists flock to this shop below, called Ah Po Tie Dan (阿婆铁蛋) to get their hands on the preserved egg.

danshui

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Ah Gei 【阿给】

Another Tamsui specialty is the legendary Ah Gei (阿给). This is a must-try when you are there.

IMG_6850IMG_6849Ah Gei is basically tofu stuffed with glass noodles in sweet and spicy sauce. I find it really appetizing and addictive. It is very cheap too, only NTD35 each (SGD1.50).❤

IMG_6847This is how it looks like inside.

IMG_6848

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Tall Soft Serve Ice Cream Tower 【巨无霸霜淇淋】

You should also not miss the soft serve ice cream tower at Tamsui. Look at how tall it is! (That is my sister, Alicia.)IMG_8943An important thing to note is that Tamsui Old Street is not just about the food. Let me share with you some of the interesting shops that I discovered on my recent trip to Taiwan.

 +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Believe It Or Not Curiosity Museum 【淡水信不信由你博物馆】 

I was walking along the Gongming Street at Tamsui Old Street and saw many people crowded around this particular shop. When I stopped to take a closer look, I realised that it is a little museum by itself, called the Believe It Or Not Curiosity Museum. The exhibits here range from live animals to strange specimens. This museum is said to have the world’s largest rabbit too.

danshuimuseum

The turtle below has experienced an unnatural genetic mutation which resulted in its thick, rounded and deformed shell.believe it or not museumAddress: 67 Gongming St, Tamsui District, New Taipei City

Admission fee: NTD89 (SGD3.80) for adults and free for children below 90cm.

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Teddy Bear Museum 【泰迪熊博物馆】 

This Teddy Bear Museum is just a small shop along Zhong Zheng Road in Tamsui Old Street. It was recently designated as one of Tamsui’s “Street Corner Museums (淡水街角博物馆)”. If you like teddy bears, this might be a place for you to take a look.

IMG_6862IMG_6861
90% of the plush toys in this shop are really big and I spotted a few non-teddies hiding within the sea of brown. Do note that albeit this is a so-called museum, most of the teddies here are for sale.
IMG_6856Saw some really expensive bears within the displays which are apparently manufactured in Germany’s oldest teddy bear factory, Hermann Teddy.
IMG_6857
 They look especially soft and huggable right?
IMG_6858IMG_6860
Address: 165 Zhongzheng Road, Tamsui District, New Taipei City
Admission is free.

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Danshui Hello Kitty Shop 【淡水吉蒂猫商店】 

I’ve been to Tamsui Old Street four times. This time round, I realised that many shops selling Hello Kitty merchandise have sprouted along the street. However, the cutest one of them all would be the shop below. It looks like a cosy traditional Japanese wooden architecture from the outside but the interior is fully decorated with Hello Kitty merchandise. There were loads of tourists in the shop when I was there.

IMG_6842

IMG_6834A lot of the tourists bought these Hello Kitty Pineapple Cakes as souvenir. I did not buy any as I am not a Hello Kitty fan but I managed to try the pineapple cakes as the shop offers free tasting for the pastries. I felt that the pineapple cakes taste rather average but as it is Hello Kitty shaped, it is definitely visually appealing. Great gift to friends who are Hello Kitty fans and, it is not that expensive too (NTD120/SGD5 for 3 pineapple cakes)!

IMG_6838Address: 101 Zhongzheng Road, Tamsui District, New Taipei City

Admission is free.

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Danshui Old Times Knick-Knacks Shop 【淡水桔仔店】 

There are a few shops in Tamsui that sells Taiwanese tidbits and knick-knacks from the good old days. I love the packaging of the merchandise in this shop as they are all so colorful! I guess this is how they attract the kids to buy right?

IMG_6853IMG_6852I spotted something familiar – the Big Foot Candy! Ate this when I was a kid and still remember the mini explosions within my mouth from the little balls in the candy packaging.

IMG_6851Tamsui Old Street is a place where you could easily spend almost half a day just walking around, tasting the delights and feeling the vibes of the classy streets and bask under the romantic sunset.

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

Aroma Hotel 【淡水大自然养生会馆】 

If you are looking for suitable accommodation within the Tamsui district, allow me to introduce to you the Aroma Hotel (大自然养生会馆).

aroma(Photo courtesy of Aroma Hotel)

Aroma Hotel is a short 10-minute drive from Tamsui Old Street and many other attractions within Tamsui such as the Fort San Domingo (红毛城). Tucked away from the hustle and bustle, Aroma Hotel provides guests with a quiet and relaxing stay. There are private spa facilities (hot tub and steam bath) in the rooms too.

roomI stayed in a Family Twin Room that is suitable for 4 pax. The room is very spacious and clean.

IMG_6680Take a look at the private spa facilities in the bathroom. This hot tub is big enough for two.

IMG_6708The hotel also provides two big packets of herbs for a herbal bath session in the hot tub.

IMG_6702The packet of herbs is just floating around in the bath tub. I am feeling healthy again!

Note: I slept really soundly that night thanks to this 20-minute hot herbal bath that I had in this hotel.IMG_6715IMG_6711Not forgetting, the bathroom even comes complete with a steam bath.❤

IMG_6707I really enjoyed the experience of having a pampering mini spa session within the comfort and privacy of my own hotel room.

The next morning, I was treated to a sumptuous breakfast.

IMG_6724I love how colorful the restaurant is.

IMG_6727IMG_6735IMG_6733IMG_6740IMG_6736Needless to say, the food is great too! Haven’t eaten so much for breakfast in a long time. My usual breakfast is just one hard boiled egg. ^^

IMG_6755Now, hold your breath for it is time to announce the price of one night’s stay at the hotel. I must reassure you, it is really cheap! It is also more worth it to stay in this hotel than in Taiwan’s home stay (minsu) as they provide all the facilities that you need and the amazing in-room spa facilities. Room prices here start at NTD2060 per night (SGD89).

They provide free shuttle bus service to and fro Tamsui Station too! You will just need to make an appointment with the concierge.🙂

IMG_6699

Address: No. 96, Sec.1, Danjin Road, Tamsui District, New Taipei City

www.aromahotel.com.tw (Hotel booking can be done at this website)

+   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +   +

The next post will be on an interesting hotel that I stayed in, Hotel Day (承億文旅) in Tamsui and about the romantic Fisherman’s Wharf (渔人码头). Thanks for reading!❤

ntpc

Thanks to the New Taipei City Tourism Board for extending the invitation to my blog, Follow My Wanders. Proud to be the official Singapore blogger for the event in Taiwan, “Have fun in New Taipei City”.

由衷感谢新北市觀光旅遊局诚意邀请我,担任唯一新加坡旅游部落客,通过「自在旅行 新北好行」活动推荐新北市好去处和住宿。

5 responses to “Exploring Taiwan’s New Taipei City – Tamsui 【探索台湾新北市 – 淡水】

  1. Pingback: Exploring Taiwan’s New Taipei City – Tamsui Part II 【探索台湾新北市 – 淡水II】 | followmywanders·

  2. Wow! I loved this entry and I love your blog! Your writing and pictures are so fun🙂 Can you believe I haven’t visited Danshui before?? I am dying to go!

    Thanks for the like too!😀

  3. Last August I was in Taiwan for 2 weeks: I was amazingly surprised everywhere I went and I became fan of the country🙂 now I want to return🙂 great pictures, great work! keep on going! PedroL

Leave a Reply

