Review on Shiseido’s Tsubaki Hair Oil

tsubaki hair oil

Here I am, reviewing another hair product. Almost feels like a hair guru now.

This amazing new hair product is called the Tsubaki Camellia Hair Oil. I’ve got to promise you that this is the least onerous hair product I have ever used in my entire life. And, it smells so good that I feel like applying it all over my body.❤

As I have never heard of the word “Camellia”, I googled about it and discovered that Camellia Oil has long been touted to contain many benefits and it is also widely used in Japanese beauty products.

This is how a Camellia flower looks like.

Camellia(Photo courtesy of Stephen J. Danko)

 Some of the benefits of Camellia Oil are:

  • Restores hair’s natural sheen
  • Boost moisture retention in hair
  • Forms a barrier against environmental pollutants
  • Repairs breakage and split ends
  • Treats dry scalp and itchiness
  • Help prevents dandruff
  • Treats damage from perms and coloring

This is how the packaging looks like. Not exactly eye-catching but I really love the bottle.

tsubakiproduct

This red bottle looks very chic.tsubakiproduct2

tsubakiuseWhat I love about this product:

(1) It is formulated with a high concentration of Camellia Oil to deeply protect, moisturise and repair your hair.

(2) It protects your hair from damage by UV rays and the heat from hair dryers.

(3) You can apply this hair oil immediately after towel-drying your hair (i.e. you do not have to wait for your hair to dry / blow dry your hair). Some hair products could only be applied on dry hair. For me, when my hair is fully dry, I will either be out of the house or already in slumber land. I find blow drying my hair really a hassle. Being able to apply something so beneficial on my hair right after I finish showering makes it so much more convenient.

(4) This hair oil instantly penetrates hair upon application without feeling greasy. (Your hands wouldn’t feel greasy too!) Most importantly, it does not weigh down the hair, making it look as flat as a roti prata (what a Singaporean way to describe it but I guess it sends the message across).

(5) This hair oil smells like a composition of Cassis (fresh green fruity note) and Iris (powdery floral note). Most girls would definitely love walking around with hair that smells that candy.

tsubakiapplyingBeing almost addicted to to the hair oil, I have been applying it twice a day; once after showering and the second time, before leaving the house. I would use about 6 drops each time, focusing especially on the split ends.

The result is pretty amazing – I applied the hair oil on one side of my hair and asked JJ to determine which side looks healthier and he got it right! For someone who usually does not pay attention to details, he could actually tell the difference!

So, this is how it looks like. As you can see, the hair before application (picture on the right) is frizzy and unkempt. However, after application (picture on the left), my hair looks shinier and definitely less frizzy than before.

tsubakiresultsEveryone loves having shiny and healthy looking hair, no?tsubakiendproductLet me share some tips on the application of the Tsubaki Camellia Hair Oil.

(1) How to prevent flat hair (Recommended for those who have soft and fine hair – just like me)

– Refrain from applying large amount of the hair oil inappropriately and unevenly. That said, always spread half the appropriate amount (about 20-cent coin size for mid-length hair) onto the palms and work it through the hair, starting from the damaged ends. Then, spread the second half onto the palms and focus on areas that require extra application.

– Rule of thumb: Avoid application near the root of the hair as it will weigh it down.

(2) How to reduce volume (Recommended for those who have thick and voluminous hair)

– Apply an appropriate amount to wet hair and dry it with a hair dryer. Then, spread a small amount onto the palms and apply on the bottom half of the hair to reduce the volume.

Well, I know you are probably very tempted right now. (I have lobbied another Le Sucre bunny to be my model.)

tsubakibunny

Tsubaki Hair Oil will be available exclusively at Watsons Singapore from 11 September 2014. Each 60ml bottle retails at $26.90.

Tsubaki BLOGGER POST

samplestore-blogger-badge[Thank you Shiseido and Samplestore for the great product! <3]

Leave a Reply

