Punggol Waterway and Lorong Halus Wetland

As a Singaporean, I just feel that it doesn’t make sense for me to write a travel blog that has no mention of this beautiful sunny island. So from now on, I will be also be blogging about my wanders in different parts of Singapore.

Working as a producer, I have many opportunities to film at different locations. Here are two places that amazed me and are suitable for a short day of R&R.🙂

1) Punggol Waterway

Punggol residents will definitely know this place inside out and this is probably a place where they hangout during weekends. But it would most probably be pretty unheard of to residents elsewhere. It is my first time here. Subsequently, I had a chance to explore this area over three days of filming.🙂

Punggol used to be a fishing village and it was transformed into a new housing estate with internationally acclaimed projects like My Waterway@Punggol. What I really like about this place are the open spaces and the well-designed bridges like the Adventure Bridge and the Kelong Bridge. And just so because the park is so pretty, I chanced upon many couples doing their wedding shoot here.🙂

IMG_6049

My crew filming joggers in the area

IMG_6050

It is a very big park. Be sure not to get lost.

IMG_6053

I love this walkway. A nice place to jog at.

IMG_6057

Shelters along the way to rest at but note that it is very hot during noon!

IMG_6058

The waterway to channel the water

IMG_6054

Nice greenery

I didn’t manage to take any photos of the Recreation Zone but it is basically this area where kids can play with the water. It resembles the water playground at Science Centre. There is this restroom where children can shower after playing at the mini water playground. There is also a big sand pit just one minute walk away from the water playground. Recommended for family with kids to play at. And, it is totally free so just check it out.

Here is the direction to Punggol Waterway:

Best way to head there: Alight at Punggol MRT, transfer to LRT and alight at Damai Station. Cross Punggol Road and you can see the My Waterway @ Punggol signboard from the traffic junction. It is pretty far from Punggol MRT Station so please take the LRT.

Duration of stay: 2 hours

Best time to go: Early in the morning or after sundown. This place is very hot from 10am to 6pm. I have colleagues who joked that you need many more years for the trees in this new estate to grow and thus, provide enough shelter for the park visitors.

http://www.nparks.gov.sg/cms/index.php?option=com_visitorsguide&task=parks&id=95&Itemid=73

2) Lorong Halus Wetland

This is the other place that I would like to recommend. Suitable for nature lovers. I was there to film the bird watching group from Nature Society Singapore. They just brought me and my crew around the place and pointed to us where the bird nesting grounds are at and even showed us interesting birds via their extremely professional binoculars.

Refer to their website for more information (They do have bird watching groups that you can join):

www.nss.org.sg

One thing that I particularly like at this place is the Halus Bridge.🙂

IMG_6046

Just cross this bridge from Punggol Promenade and you will arrive at Lorong Halus Wetland!

IMG_6043

Managed by PUB

Bridge Connecting Lorong Halus and Punggol Waterway

Bridge Connecting Lorong Halus and Punggol Waterway

IMG_6031

Really love this bridge. Very photogenic!🙂

IMG_6023

The Nature Society Singapore’s Bird Watching Group at work.

IMG_6019

My favorite cameraman!🙂

IMG_6011

Are you able to see the bird nest? (Hint: It is green in color and it is located right in the middle of the photo.) I was there in June and that is the period of time where birds construct their home sweet home. So we were lucky to see so many birds collecting branches and leaves, and flying back to build their nests.🙂

Here is the direction to Lorong Halus Wetland:

Best way to head there: Alight at Punggol MRT and transfer to LRT. Alight at Riveira Station. Walk past the hard court and sports hub. Then, you will see the Punggol Promenade Riverside Park. Follow the park connector and then cross the Halus Bridge. Or access from Punggol Promenade. Cross the Halus Bridge and you will reach Lorong Halus Wetland.

Duration of stay: 1 hour

Best time to go: Early in the morning. Remember to apply mosquito repellent. My crew and I were attacked by the mosquitoes in the area!

10 responses to “Punggol Waterway and Lorong Halus Wetland

  1. Pingback: 5 Beautiful Places To Traverse In Singapore | Zafigo·

Leave a Reply

