Friendships Forged, Memories Created – My Experiences on a Reality TV Competition

Image

My teammates!🙂

I was in India for around 3 weeks. 说长不长,说短不短. During these three weeks, I was glad to be able to know friends who think alike since we are all in this media industry. My teammates, Omar and Gunjan (a.k.a. my didi!) are producers from Dubai One and New Delhi TV Station (NDTV).

I joined the competition under the name Tina Loh Jing Ting. Added in my english name, Tina for convenience sake cos people tend to pronounce my name in a pretty interesting way!🙂

Image

My teammates! I love my didi!❤

Image

My team, together with Frank Michael, the Executive Producer of the show.

Image

Me and the lovely interns, Sushma and Amreen! ^^

Image

Girls rule!

6

Fellow contestants, famous director and production team!🙂

7

Fellow contestants. We had so much fun together!🙂

IMG_5715

The girls in the makeup room!❤

IMG_5858

The director of the show, Murad Sidhiqui.🙂

IMG_5865

Content producer, Nishanth.🙂

Before the trip, I really looked forward to work with people from other countries. It has been so fun getting to know everyone and joking about how things go. Among the contestants, whenever we were told of the reporting time, we would automatically push it back by at least one hour. For example, if we were told to meet in the lobby at 8am, we would tell ourselves that no one would be there to pick us up at 8am. We refer to this “phenomenon” as the India Stretchable Time (instead of the India Standard Time, IST). ^^

And even though there are Indians in Singapore, I find it really hard to grasp the accents of some Indians in the production team. It took me about two days before I finally got used to the accent and didn’t have to pretend that I comprehend. :p

Lastly, I would like to thank everyone who offered help in one way or another. To my lovely Didi, thanks for taking care of your little sister and laughing at all my jokes. I know perfectly well that I can’t really crack jokes. To Ayesha, you were a great companion on our mini excursion. Hope to be able to see you in UAE someday. To Sushma, you were such a great help on our final assignment! *Heart heart!* To the Singapore team, you all really did our country proud. To the entire production team, thanks for this wonderful experience.

SO GLAD TO SURVIVE A REALITY TV COMPETITION!

Here are some screen grabs of the programme.
COAL3COAL1COAL2

This program CHANCE OF A LIFETIME will start airing on Discovery / National Geographic in July.🙂

badge india

5 responses to “Friendships Forged, Memories Created – My Experiences on a Reality TV Competition

  1. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you happen to bee a great author.I will be sure
    to bookmark your blog and will often come back down the road.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great work,
    have a nice evening!

  2. Pingback: Featured in Local Media (My Paper) – Chennai Travelogue | follow my wanders·

Leave a Reply

